The construction of Király Bath was begun by Arslan, the Pasha of Buda in 1565. The Turks built the Bath far from the springs to ensure the opportunity for bathing even in the case of an eventual siege, within the walls of the castle. Following the reoccupation of Buda, the Bath was acquired in 1796 by the König family. They rebuilt it to its current form, combining the old with the new, and preserving its monumental character, found even in the name of the Bath. Stemming from the name of the family, it translates from Hungarian (Király=King=König). In World War II, the Bath was damaged. Its complete renovation was accomplished in 1950.
The unique, handmade book called Budapest Pattern designed by Ágnes Bogár has been created as a diploma project in 2014 at the Hungarian University of Fine Arts. The designer created art routes for exploring Budapest’s architectural heritage, focusing on the most exceptional monuments, built at the turn of the 19th/20th centuries. What the buildings have in common is rich decor - Ágnes created a beautiful print collection of the Budapest Pattern buildings. Check out the whole collection in the webshop!